National Restaurant Association Awards

Below are the State of Michigan winners for the annual National Restaurant Association awards. The awards recognize and celebrate outstanding leaders and innovators who have made lasting contributions to the industry through education, diversity, and community service.

Restaurant Neighbor Award

The Restaurant Neighbor Award honors restaurants in the field of outstanding community service and involvement.  Each year, four national winners receive $5,000 each to support their community efforts as well as an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to receive their award during a gala awards dinner held in April.

Year   Restaurant
2005 bd's Mongolian Barbeque
2006 bd's Mongolian Barbeque*
  Zukey Lake Tavern
2007 The Side Door Saloon
2008 Big Boy International Restaurants
  Buddy's Pizza
  Zukey Lake Tavern
2009 VanCamp House
2010 Buddy's Pizza
  Zukey Lake Tavern
2011 Skip's Restaurant

Shield's Pizza
  Buddy's Pizza
2012 Buffalo Wild Wings
  Zukey Lake Tavern
2013 Buddy's Pizza
2014 Buddy's Pizza
  Passport Pizza*
2015 BarFly Ventures, LLC
  Buddy's Pizza
  The Root Restaurant & Bar
  Zukey Lake Tavern

*Winner of the National Restaurant Neighbor Award

Cornerstone Humanitarian Award

The Cornerstone Humanitarian is presented to an individual for his or her personal commitment to community service. Four winners will win $5,000 and an all expenses paid trip to Washington D.C. 
A person can apply for the award or he/she can be nominated by another individual or organization.



2005 Brann's Steakhouse and Grille  
2006 Pronto!
2007 One Trick Pony
2010 Dino's Restaurant & Lounge
2013 Dan Verhil, The Cottage Bar Restaurant

Faces of Diversity Award

The Faces of Diversity award honors people who have achieved the American dream through perseverance and determination. Three winners will receive expense-paid trips to the awards gala, and the NRA will award $2,500 scholarships in their names to promising college students.

Year  Restaurant